It’s been a secret dream of mine… to have a garden open house that is. 

We moved into our farmhouse seven years ago. It was an abandoned foreclosed
home with most of the windows busted out and an interior that said a lot about
the previous owners- nothing good! We looked at the house for the first time in
the middle of winter, little did I know there wouldn’t be a garden to find.

As for trees and shrubs, there was one very large and beautiful maple tree
and an apple tree in the back yard, a nice hedge of antique hyrangeas on the
side of the house and a couple lilac bushes. Not bad for some, but not near what
my heart desired.

I’ve shared the creation of all the gardens here in my blogs except the
patio. Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures of the first  two years labor.
It was a big job and being busy with the other things in our life, it ended up
taking three years… we finished just last month!

Over the years my garden’s have evolved as have I… my likes and my tastes
have grown and are depicted in my cottage style gardens. I love simply being in
them… breathing the aromas that surround me… listening to the wind whisper
through the leaves… watching the hummingbirds busily work. My gardens are simply
my sanctuary.

So, an open house… now that will be an undertaking I’m sure. I’ve read
about and attended several… and secretly dreamed, “Some day… some day I can
share my gardens…”

So when will I say that the time has arrived? I don’t know… so I think
I’ll just create a plan of action right here with all of you and maybe a
Pinterest board of my dreams, LOL- you can follow me there too at For
Dragonflies And Me @ Pinterest.


Lets start with the INVITATION… garden themed of
course. I plan on using vintage prints of botanicals with some pretty ribbons.
You’ll need to decide who you are planning to invite: will it be just close
friends and family? neighbors? What about your Facebook, Twitter, Blog followers
and whatever other social media sites/groups you may be involved with? You can
send out a formal invitation using snail mail and/or via email/FB/Twitter,
etc.

Have a Guest Book ready for the guests to sign.
I plan on using a pretty garden style notebook/journal like this one.

A ‘Thank You Gift’ is a special touch that your
guests will appreciate. I make blank stationary photo-greeting cards with many
of my photographs to sell at market. These are a useful and beautiful gift that
your guest will appreciate.

When you’re guests arrive, have a cute chalk board set up on an easel
to ‘Welcome’ and direct
them.

Creating the MENU is next and the time of year
should determine what will be on it. If you have your own garden, try to use
things that you’ve grown. This is the menu and photo’s from one of my recent
get-to-gethers.
~Watermelon bowl with mixed fruit served on a green
Depression glass cake plate.

~Artisan goat cheese served in antique tea cups with garden themed
spreaders served on platter with several varieties of crackers on an elevated
platter.

~Fresh home made Garden Tea served in my bee hive drink jug

I made tags stating the flavors of each dressing and goat cheese and
attatched it to the handle of cups and pitchers.

Put utensils separately in Terra cotta pots along with napkins in a
slightly larger one. Place all these in a fabric lined long handled basket along
with throw away trays.

The Table should be as special as the
menu…
~Use a quilt for the table cloth. If you plan on having several small
tables, use a mix of cute sheets or table clothes overlaid with pretty linens.
This is one of my favorite quilts to use. It can be used for spring, summer or
fall!

A pretty centerpiece is the final touch for the table…and don’t forget
candles. Here I’ve placed two scented jar candles in Terra cotta pots to go
along with the theme.

~Bouquets should be made with whatever is blooming in your
gardens…
Peonies in blue mason jars are beautiful and such an elegant
contrast

Hosta leaves are timeless and will last for weeks in the vase…mix
different varieties of height and colors for interest.

~Having a few welcoming area’s for guests to sit and visit is always a
nice touch…

Room for two in the grill station.

Three old metal chairs around a cozy fire bowl in the patio

Neil built this swing frame beside our fire pit. It’s more child friendly
than adult… Seating for six around the fire…very cozy in our over sized chairs.
I typically use cute sheets or table clothes as seat covers.
Here are my home made Ranch Dressing and Garden Tea Recipes… enjoy
friends


Ranch Dressing
2 cups Mayonnaise DO NOT exchange for
Miracle Whip or Salad Dressing!!!!
2 cups milk
2 Tbsp. dry parsley or
1/2 cup fresh, chopped finely
2 cloves fresh garlic, minced
1 Tbsp.
onion powder
1/2 Tbsp. sea salt
1/4 tsp. pepper
1/4 tsp. paprika


Combine mayo and milk; whisk together until smooth. Add remaining ingredients
and refridgerate for at least an hour so flavors can blend.
*Note: It will
thicken, but if you want it a bit thicker add 1 Tbsp. of mayo at a time until
desired consistency; if too thick do the same, but with milk.


Fresh Garden Tea Concentrate
8 cups water
4 cups raw
organic sugar
6 cups tea leaves

 Bring water and sugar to a hard boil for 5 minutes; add tea leaves and remove
from heat. Cover and let steep 5 to 8 hours.


TO MAKE: combine 1 part tea concentrate to 2 parts cold water.
You can
freeze the concentrate for up to a year, so if you have lots of tea growing, you
can enjoy this all year long.

So, now we have a plan of action… just need to get all the projects done!
Please take a trip over to my Word Press blog to see the gobs of pictures that go with this post! Follow this link http://fordragonfliesandme.wordpress.com/2013/07/21/garden-open-house-plus-my-homemade-ranch-dressing-and-fresh-garden-tea-recipes/ 
 
Happy Day,
Jean



Leave a Reply.

    Jean Anne Smith

    As a wife and mother of six my life is filled with so many amazing and joyful

    things.  I love the time that I can spend in my gardens, strolling
    through the
    pergola... I love my chickens... I love my life... join me here
    often to share
    with me in the garden, the kitchen and in the everyday
    things in life.

    Archives

    July 2013

    Categories

    All
    Garden Parties
    Garden Party Invitations
    Patio's
    Watermelon Fruit Bowls